Inclusion in the Arts promotes and advocates for full inclusion of artists of color and performers with disabilities at all levels of production in theatre, film, television, and related media.  Our work also extends to audiences, particularly those belonging to underserved and historically excluded communities.  Principal programs include the Advocacy, Consulting and Information Program; the Disability Initiative, which includes Disability in Entertainment and Arts Link (DEAL); and the National Diversity Forum.  Through these activities, Inclusion in the Arts has become the primary catalyst for and facilitator of increased diversity and inclusion on a national level.

Our principal aim is to achieve full inclusion in American arts and entertainment, such that what we see on our screens and stages truly reflects the society in which we live; where each artist is considered on his/her merits as an individual; where the stories being told are drawn from authentic and diverse experiences; and where our individual humanity can be celebrated.  To this end, we actively engage artists and decision makers, forge partnerships, and create opportunities.

The only organization of its kind in the United States, Inclusion in the Arts serves communities that have traditionally been denied equitable professional opportunities, including those who identify as African American, Asian Pacific American, Caribbean Black, South Asian, Latino, Arab American, Persian American, Native American, Deaf and hard of hearing, blind and low vision, have mobility, physical, developmental or intellectual disabilities.

Inclusion in the Arts receives support from The Shubert Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, Actors’ Equity Foundation, Screen Actors Guild-Producers Industry Advancement and Cooperative Fund, American Federation of Television and Radio Artists Industry Cooperative Fund, National Endowment for the Arts, New York State Council on the Arts, The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, Inc., The Edith Meiser Fund and TSC (Theater Subdistrict Council).